Review: Baby Doll

27415371

Courtesy of Goodreads.com

Book Title: Baby Doll
Author: Hollie Overton
Series: None
Genres: Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Fiction
Goodreads

Date Read: 07/18/16
Pub Date: 07/12/16

3 STARS

“For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, Baby Doll is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.

This is what happens next…

…to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter…and to her captor.”

Not a lot to go on right? Notice that little blurb at the top- “For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train…”. Stop right there. This is an EXTREMELY unfair comparison as this book in no way was similar to those aforementioned. I think a good number of lukewarm to poor reviews of this book are due to the fact the reader felt duped into believing that they were picking up a book that was arresting with at least 1 or more major plot twists. Unfortunately, I was one of those readers, which made me feel a little guilty as I believe part of my reasoning behind a lower rating was due to feeling misled. If you want my personal opinion, this was more relatable to the novel Room by Emma Donoghue than anything else (I loved that book by the way), if it had been written involving the aftermath of the kidnapping. To end my initial rant, if this book had been marketed to a different crowd, it would be receiving a higher overall rating, but that’s just my opinion.

Another thing to note is that this book isn’t about Lily’s captivity, not really. After a glowing first few chapters that had me hooked, we are thrown into the aftermath and what life is like for herself and her family of everyday life. The ending did speed up a bit once again, but the middle was just a little meh. I thought there would be more thrilling action, but it was just domestic drama that seemed a bit trite compared to the premise of Lily being held captive for 8 years. While not going into the plot too deeply, Lily seemed a bit normal, like she hadn’t experienced daily, overwhelming trauma for almost a decade. I was expecting turmoil and struggles, but she seemed just fine.

I know this sounds like nothing but a giant bash-this-book post, but I promise its not. Hollie Overton clearly is a talented writer, I just wasn’t the right reader for this book. My tastes are slightly different, so I was expecting this to be told and read from a completely different angle. This is a classic case of “I enjoyed reading this book, it just wasn’t one I’ll be remembering for years to come”. I can say with confidence that I would be interested in reading the author’s next book, as I feel she has tremendous potential and would love to watch her growth from book to book. I don’t give out 3 star ratings if I don’t enjoy the book, so please take this for what it is-simply my opinion.

*I’d like to thank the publisher for providing my copy in exchange for a fair and honest review. 

Advertisements

About The Suspense Is Thrilling Me

Chelsea is a happily married mother of two who's love of mysteries can be traced back to her first Nancy Drew experience. When not reading and writing book reviews, she likes to drink wine in her jammies and pretend that she exercises.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Baby Doll

  1. In fairness, publisher’s blurbs have but one purpose, to sell books. Not to provide potential readers with accurate information. Often it is obvious the blurb writer has not read the book. When we see the phrase “like . . . Girl” we can safely assume there’s a young woman character in the book, & that’s all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s